Ex-Nabard chief to head key committee
Mumbai | June 2017
MUMBAI: The state government will set up a 10-member committee headed by former NABARD chairman Y P Thorat to draft conditions for a loan waiver for farmers.

Revenue minister Chandrakant Patil told TOI that besides Thorat, former cooperation secretary Sudhirkumar Goyal, Pune divisional commissioner Chandrakant Dalvi, chief protocol officer Rajgopal Deora (ex-cooperation secretary), and cooperation secretary S S Sandhu will represent the state government. There will be five nominees from among farmer groups. "We expect that the committee will be constituted in a day or two. Conditions for loan waiver will be drafted by the committee,'' Patil said. Patil made it clear that government is keen on ensuring that the waiver benefits small and marginal farmers.